X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help,oil leak from transfer case!

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2014, 08:53 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help,oil leak from transfer case!

Hy to all,i am a mechanic from romania,and i have a big problem,in my garage it came an Jaguar x type 2.5 v6 from 2006 for oil pan gasket removal.but in this case the last screw is located behind the transfer case,so i have taked down the transfer box,replace the oil pan gasket ,re installed everything in reverse order,but now i have a leak from rh shaft seal,so i have buyed an after market seal 65 mm ext diameter 40 mm inside and widht 10 mm,i have inserted and drive bellow 100km h ,no problem , no oil leak ,after 100 km h i have leak,ok so i have replaced the seal with a inner 38 mm, il leaks again,I Mention that i have replaced all,including that metal bracket beetwen engine transfer case and exhaust manifold,i don t know what to do,because it is just not logic,are there 2 seals?do i need an original seal?for oil in transfer case i have removed the rear shaft ,and let all the oil to leak,and after that i have unscrewed with 15mm key the superior screw from transfer case who is located under exhaust catalyst an fill it from over there with Castrol Syntrax Limited Slip 75W140 OIL.WHAT IS WRONG ,OR WHERE MY MISTAKE IS?THANKS

Old 10-13-2014, 09:06 AM
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Just a thought: How much fluid did you put in? If you put in too much, the extra blows out from the breather vent on the top of the case and runs down to the bottom.

Old 10-13-2014, 09:22 AM

600 ml,i think that when i removed the rear shaft,the one that goes to rear axle ,all the oil came out?!but lhe leax it is not from vent valve,i suppose that it came beetwen shaft and shaft seal,do i need an original shaft seal???i am a little paranoic so now i am wondering if it doesn t leak from that vent vale ,what is the purpose for this vent and how this work,what should i do?