Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   X-Type ( X400 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x-type-x400-14/)
-   -   long way to go to find out the store is closed - brakes (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x-type-x400-14/long-way-go-find-out-store-closed-brakes-6029/)

bojangles 05-11-2008 12:07 PM

long way to go to find out the store is closed - brakes

Actually I dont know if that expression is suitable or not.. but I have been chasing crappy brakes for almost 18 months and 50k kmnow.

I got the car with shakey, and crappybrakes.. and sticky handbrake cables.
I read up here and decided to order RED STUFF pads.. and then got some el-cheapo rotors here locally.
The brakes were smooth for a while, but never stopped with any "bite" certainly no hope of locking up the summer tires.
THe pedal was low more times than not.. and I tinkered around off and on trying to improve them. I did find that the low pedal was due to the parking brake cables not working well. Once that was fixed the pedal was consistantly good. But the stopping was never any good.

Finally I drove another X-type a couple of weeks ago.. with stock brakes.. and it was very good.
So I spoke to Jag Genius and ordered a set of front OEM discs and pads.

WELL..... drum roll please.............. they work - Finally they work!!

I find it hard to believe that the Red stuff pads were crappy, and also hard to believe that the cheap discs could make the car stop so poorly.

At least the car is better. I suppose I should do the rears now.
Jag Genius.. wait a week for another pay cheque..

BuckMR2 05-11-2008 01:27 PM

RE: long way to go to find out the store is closed - brakes

I had the opposite experience...crap stock brakes which were taken directly (exactly same discs and pads up to 2004) from the UKs Ford Mondeo and expected to stop an AWD drive X type with a lot more weight!