X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transfer case/ Trans oil change question

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2016, 08:03 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Transfer case/ Trans oil change question

I have a new to me 2002 X Type. In the morning when it is cold it makes a funny whine, just one time when taking off.

I have no service records and almost 100 percent sure the PO did almost nothing of preventative maintenance. So yesterday I bought the synthetic gear oil to change the oil in the transfer case. I looked in the "how to" section but the slideshow for the tcase oil change is not available anymore.

So do I just tilt it one way to drain and then the other way to fill and then hurry and put the cap on?

So when I drain the transmission only 3 quarts or so will come out at a time.
Also where is the transmission fluid charging pipe cap at?

I am new to these cars and comfortable working on it but I especially like pictures when I am treading into new territory.

Old 03-05-2016, 12:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 126 Likes on 114 Posts

Originally Posted by chiefM
I have a new to me 2002 X Type. In the morning when it is cold it makes a funny whine, just one time when taking off.

I have no service records and almost 100 percent sure the PO did almost nothing of preventative maintenance. So yesterday I bought the synthetic gear oil to change the oil in the transfer case. I looked in the "how to" section but the slideshow for the tcase oil change is not available anymore.

So do I just tilt it one way to drain and then the other way to fill and then hurry and put the cap on?

So when I drain the transmission only 3 quarts or so will come out at a time.
Also where is the transmission fluid charging pipe cap at?

I am new to these cars and comfortable working on it but I especially like pictures when I am treading into new territory.