Go Back  Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Current ) > XE ( X760 )
Reload this Page >

Incontrol remote app won’t remote start anymore.

XE ( X760 ) 2015 -

Incontrol remote app won’t remote start anymore.

 
  #1  
Old 11-28-2017, 09:00 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Incontrol remote app won’t remote start anymore.

Greetings everyone.

Having issues using the Incontrol remote app to start my car. Purchased a CPO XE 3 weeks ago, installed the Incontrol remote app on my iPhone 8 Plus, and the remote start function worked prefectly.

This weekend, I installed a small powered subwoofer, disconnecting the positive wire from the car battery to do the install. While the subwoofer works great, I now get an error message on the Incontrol app stating that remote start failed due to my windows being open. The app itself indicates that the windows are closed. I have signed out/signed in, uninstalled/ reinstalled the app back on my phone and still get the windows are open error. Anyone else experiencing something similar and have been able to get the remote start function to work again?

Charlie
 
  #2  
Old 11-24-2018, 07:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Mansfield, PA
Posts: 49
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I tried to remote start my car a few days ago and received the same error message. My driver window was down less than 1/8" when I went out to the car. I had vented after driving through "skunk fog" on our road and must not have kept my finger on the window switch long enough. Must be that the smallest amount of down travel will trip the safety for remote starting the car. Assuming your windows are all fully up, maybe a sensor issue? Run all the windows down and then back up to see if the problem remedies itself.
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-2018, 06:59 AM
keith100's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 735
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

My incontrol stopped recording trips and the car's location, a few days ago. Signing in and out didn't help, but rebooting the phone got it to work again.
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-2019, 06:15 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: London
Posts: 9
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I did think that not checked if the service light is on within the car.? Was wondering about resetting it someone also said could be short journeys.
 
  #5  
Old 04-01-2019, 04:47 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: SATX
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Having no other way to remote start your car other than an app on a cell phone is the dumbest "innovation" I've seen come out of the car industry in a while. It's so annoying. It would be fine if that was a secondary option, but for it to be the ONLY option is just dumb. Plain and simple.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-2019, 10:32 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: North of the Boarder.
Posts: 29
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 01svtL View Post
Having no other way to remote start your car other than an app on a cell phone is the dumbest "innovation" I've seen come out of the car industry in a while. It's so annoying. It would be fine if that was a secondary option, but for it to be the ONLY option is just dumb. Plain and simple.
Not the only way to start the vehicle, but when working, a fantastic daily routine.
 
  #7  
Old 04-07-2019, 05:56 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: SATX
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by craigger View Post
Not the only way to start the vehicle, but when working, a fantastic daily routine.
So what’s the other way to remote start it?
 
  #8  
Old 04-08-2019, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2018
Location: IL
Posts: 107
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 01svtL View Post
Having no other way to remote start your car other than an app on a cell phone is the dumbest "innovation" I've seen come out of the car industry in a while. It's so annoying. It would be fine if that was a secondary option, but for it to be the ONLY option is just dumb. Plain and simple.
I agree. That old, stupid "push the button on the remote fob" is so outdated.

You know, the tech that works every time.
 
  #9  
Old 04-08-2019, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2018
Location: IL
Posts: 107
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by keith100 View Post
My incontrol stopped recording trips and the car's location, a few days ago. Signing in and out didn't help, but rebooting the phone got it to work again.
Did Jaguar use Lucas, (aka: God of Darkness) to design the nocontrol app?
 
  #10  
Old 04-08-2019, 10:49 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: SATX
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Prange View Post
I agree. That old, stupid "push the button on the remote fob" is so outdated.

You know, the tech that works every time.
Exactly. I can understand having both options, but to only have the app version is ridiculous. I can often get to my car and start it myself before the app gets going, log back in, reload, it checks to make sure the doors are locked etc before it finally connects and starts the car. Or, with that “outdated” tech, I could decide it’s time to go, pick my key up and hit a start button, stick the fob in my pocket, and it’ll be ready to go, revs dropped to normal idle and all, 20 seconds later when I get in the car without having to navigate a phone app because it’s not like the app opens directly to the function anyway.
 
 

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: