XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

2012 Jaguar XF R high mileage

Old 12-03-2018, 10:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Jaguar XF R high mileage

Hello this is my first time on any forum, i am really really interested in buying a used 2012 jaguar xf r. I wanted to know if theres anybody out there with over 150k miles on theres with the original engine? Thank you all for your time.

Last edited by GGG; 12-15-2018 at 03:20 AM. Reason: My shift key works
Old 12-03-2018, 11:12 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,108 Likes on 2,294 Posts

Not too sure there are any XFR owners on this forum with that many miles on the car, but there are a few likely problems with the XFR engine (AJ133 SC) once it gets to 100k+ miles.
Number one problem by miles is failing/cracking/splitting plastic coolant pipes and hoses, lots of them all over the engine front and back, many threads and posts on here about this.
If one of those pipes or hoses lets go and dumps coolant quickly there is a strong chance of massive overheating and a cooked/blown engine.
If looking to buy an XFR with over 150k miles on the clock you would want proof that all those pipes and hoses (especially the front "cross over" pipe) have been renewed, otherwise you are up for big bucks to renew them yourself.
Other common high mileage engine problems include:
- kaput engine coolant pump
- kaput SC coolant pump
- intake valves and ports clogged with carbon deposits
- SC coupler/torsion isolator failed/worn
- timing chain tensioners worn/rattling

And that's just the engine!
Thing is it's a very good and reliable engine, it's just that many of the cooling system components are not up to scratch.

Other than the engine:
- look for full service history with oil changes at least every 12 months using the correct spec engine oil
- the ZF trans fluid should be changed every 60k miles or so but many owners don't know this and never get it changed, so check to see if/when this has been done