Seeking suggestion for 2013 XJL brake rotors/pads

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2017, 10:55 AM
Received 98 Likes on 70 Posts

Anyone tried the Porterfield R4-5?

Old 11-20-2017, 04:03 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by Mikey
Rotors that actually warp are pretty much a myth.
I dislike it when people post this kind of untrue but authoritative statements! You are completely wrong. I am no expert at this but I found out the hard way!
Rotor warp is actually more predominant today and ever before - because of proliferation of 3rd world rotors. Even a german company like Zimmer buys the castings from China etc. They may or machine them in Germany - just for the "made in germany" label -I am not sure if they are even machining them in Germany. Apparently, Zimmer used to be a reliable name and now they are selling junk chinese/indian rotors as if they are made in germany. I had the zimmer rotors replaced, because they were warped - within very low miles, they warped! Several mechanics have told me this.. Even they are having problem in finding high quality rotors.. they said that the rotors are of poor quality and do warp often enough that the two I talked to are tired of junk from China/India.. The guy I used actually ordered Jaguar OEM from the local dealer - and yes, I know him well enough that he did get OEM from local jaguar dealer (only dealer in my area). The brakes work great now!

In the past, I had bought rotors from "a place for brakes".. that was 3 years ago.. for my lexus ls 600hl and they were as good as OEM.. the ceramic pads were perfect.. everything was as good as OEM.. Unfortunately, they did not stock rotors for Jaguar.. The Zimmer rotors with Hella pads were both junk!

Last edited by jaguarxjl; 11-20-2017 at 04:12 PM.
Old 11-22-2017, 06:11 AM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts