XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Please if you guys can fill me in on the curses

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2013, 09:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please if you guys can fill me in on the curses

Hi all I am considering an 05 with a 4.2 and need the low down... I am no stranger to Jaguar especially the 4.0 V8 but im new to the 05 year 4.2 so please fill me in on the nightmares of this motor and how it compares in problems to the 4.0.... Timing Chain Guide and Tensioner issues????? Head Gasket issues????? Plastic Thermostat Housing Issues??? Ceramic Water Pump Issues???? Carry Extra Coils around where ever you go issues???? Please let me know if they have the same curses..... I am well aware of suspension probs... Just fill me in on all else... If it has a ZF Tranny whats the deal with that please school me for what I am looking at... Thanks all....

Old 03-31-2013, 09:53 AM

Wow i gotta say I thought i would get a little help... I guess not....Is it my breath????? LOL Anyway Happy Easter to all enjoy the day and your families.....

Old 03-31-2013, 12:32 PM
Received 178 Likes on 153 Posts

I' unfamiliar with any problems, but it is Easter weekend and there are a lot of family, car shows, and driving to be done. I'm sure when everyone settles in you will get some helpful response. Not everyone lives at the computer.

Old 03-31-2013, 12:51 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

My two cents:
I have a 2005 VDP with 99k. Bought it 2 yrs ago and have had good experiences thus far. Just normal maintenance so far...just replaced the spark plugs and thermostat. Will be doing the rear brakes (rotors and pads) next month. Been quite happy with it. Fantastic car on the highway and gets 28 mpg.

Old 03-31-2013, 12:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,430 Likes on 1,940 Posts

Is it my breath?????
Well, could be; do you chew garlic ? (sorry, only joking !!).