XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Transmission fault - and a lot of CAN codes

 
  #1  
Old 05-03-2019, 09:51 AM
Hooshee's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Budapest
Posts: 27
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Transmission fault - and a lot of CAN codes

Hi Guys,

this is driving me crazy for a while now.
It started about a year ago, with intermittent "tranmission failure" and "cruise not available", "handbrake fault" messages. First of all, we cleaned the socket on the back of the transmission, and the problem gone for about 3000 miles. It reappeared, cleaned it again, same story.
Before that I had the tranny oil changed atthe dealer, I asked them to replace the gasked, which they did not do, unfortunately I realized it too late to go back and complain (they did not charge it either).

When the issue became more frequent, I went to a transmission specialist, they changed the oil, replaced gasket, and that should have been end of the case, but no. Although I found some oil in the socket again, it was not that much.
And the issue comes basically every time I drive more than 20 miles. If I let it cool down, disappears, until the next longer cycle.

I read the codes with SDD, I attached the screenshots.

Ok, it might not be the transmission socket, but where should I start investigating then? ECU? Instrument cluster control module? I would appreciate any advice, becaue I'm a bit lost, I've been to the dealer, but they could not figure out anything because they said it's too much codes, it can be anything...

Thanks in advance for any ideas



 
  #2  
Old 05-03-2019, 10:19 AM
Hooshee's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Budapest
Posts: 27
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I just read another thread here where oil contamination was the root cause in the transmission socket. However I'm suspecting that as well, I just can't make my dealer beleive it. They said "that socket can be fully poured with oil, it should not cause these type of problems". I don't agree, but they are the only dealership here...
 
  #3  
Old 05-03-2019, 07:57 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,047
Received 503 Likes on 420 Posts
Default

The original mechatronic sleeve has been superceeded presumably because it tended to leak.

Check cabin filter area for water which can affect ECU.

suggest that you do not use main dealer.

https://www.thectsc.com/
 

Last edited by meirion1; 05-03-2019 at 08:13 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Don B (05-04-2019)
  #4  
Old 05-04-2019, 01:46 AM
Datsports's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Nelson New Zealand
Posts: 2,174
Received 452 Likes on 382 Posts
Default

the source for and return point for all can bus comms in in the cluster .
these code do point to a cluster loom or can chip comms issue .
so first clean the mechatronic plug and socket thoroughly with electro clean .
there should be no oil at all in the plug . so check that again .
failing that have the cluster loom and or the can chip solders checked .
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (05-04-2019)
  #5  
Old 05-04-2019, 02:03 PM
Hooshee's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Budapest
Posts: 27
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Update: I lifted the car, and througroghly cleaned the transmission socket with brake cleaner and contact cleaner. Of course there was oil in the connector So I think the sleeve was not changed, or was changed badly

Needless to say, 200 miles without a code since then. So although I'm not sure that this is the only cause, I will not take any steps further before solving the oil leak problem.

Actually I'm thinking about to replace not only the sleeve (I'll call the ZF official service, I don't trust JAguar dealer any more), but the connector (or harness). However on SNG Barratt and other sites I cannot find complete harness or connector, only for V6, which I'm not sure that will fit.

I really appreciate your answers guys, I'll keep updating, and do not hesitate to share any new ideas with me
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (05-04-2019)
  #6  
Old 05-04-2019, 10:45 PM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Beautiful Mid-South, U.S.A.
Posts: 16,708
Received 7,766 Likes on 4,338 Posts
Default

Hi Hooshee,

It's not difficult to replace the connector sleeve yourself.

For the benefit of others who haven't dealt with the electrical connector, it is shown in the photo below. Note the dampness indicating the sleeve is leaking:




Here's a view of the harness connector showing that it is also contaminated with oil:




To drain the fluid, just remove the pan drain plug and allow the fluid to drain into a clean catch container (if you intend to reuse the oil) .

Pull down on the white plastic sleeve latch to unlock the sleeve:



The sleeve has a tab molded into the inner circumference so it can only be installed in one orientation:




Cheers,

Don
 
  #7  
Old 05-05-2019, 02:09 AM
Hooshee's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Budapest
Posts: 27
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Don,

thanks for the pics, It really helps. Yes, I think I will replace it myself. The only thing I'm thinking about, the last oil cange in the tranny was about 6 weeks ago, so of course I'll reuse what I can (and will buy one liter or so just in case). But should I replace the pan again? I really don't like this plastic design to be replaced every change, but if it's a must then I'll change it again.
 
  #8  
Old 05-05-2019, 10:38 AM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Beautiful Mid-South, U.S.A.
Posts: 16,708
Received 7,766 Likes on 4,338 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hooshee View Post
thanks for the pics, It really helps. Yes, I think I will replace it myself. The only thing I'm thinking about, the last oil cange in the tranny was about 6 weeks ago, so of course I'll reuse what I can (and will buy one liter or so just in case). But should I replace the pan again? I really don't like this plastic design to be replaced every change, but if it's a must then I'll change it again.
Hi Hooshee,

No, you should not have to replace the pan/filter again - just take care to clean the gasket and gasket mating surfaces thoroughly again and torque the screws in the proper type of spiral pattern to the specified torque and you should be fine.

Cheers,

Don
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Jpav27
XK / XKR ( X150 )
0
12-19-2015 12:39 PM
bassman64
X-Type ( X400 )
5
04-20-2014 04:25 PM
XTypeJagMan
X-Type ( X400 )
6
02-28-2014 08:38 AM
xjrsteve
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
25
02-27-2013 01:44 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Transmission fault - and a lot of CAN codes


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: