Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj6-xjr6-x300-26/)
-   -   Catalytic Converter confusion! (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj6-xjr6-x300-26/catalytic-converter-confusion-190556/)

spartancub 10-12-2017 09:05 AM

Catalytic Converter confusion!

Hey everyone!
So I have recently purchased a 1997 XJ6 in mint condition, with 177k miles. Runs great, but recently got the P0430 code (Bank 2/sensor 2 I believe).
Fortunately I had already passed the smog test here in CA about 1 week before this light came on!
I'm not too good with cars but am trying to learn as I go and teach myself to do things myself if at all possible.....
Anyways, I have been reading on here and trying to figure out what is wrong, and it seems like it could be a bad o2 sensor (downstream)? This weekend I'm going to install the 'spacers' on the o2 sensors to see if that corrects the problem (i have read others that have done this with success).
If that does not fix the problem, could it be a bad catalytic converter?
Anyways, I'm always trying to figure on 'worst case' scenario's - and in doing so I was first trying to figure out if I could DIY replace my own cat converter(s), but then as I read, I became really confused because now I don't know how many catalytic converters I have on my car? I have read that I have 2, 4 and 6..... very confusing!
Any information is much appreciated.

NBCat 10-12-2017 09:17 AM

Your X300 has two catalysts: in the downpipe from the exhaust manifold and the underfloor catalyst.

Typically P0430 cannot be resolved without a catalyst change. Note that replacement catalysts must be CARB approved for your vehicle. In other words, you cannot just fit a catalyst off the Internet unless it is approved by CARB for use in California.

spartancub 10-12-2017 09:20 AM