XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

I have to sell it already!!!

Old 09-23-2010, 04:03 PM
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default I have to sell it already!!!

I bought my XJR at a steal about 2 months ago and already I must part with her. The reason is simple, I have 3 cars and no more room. I am a college student still living at home (hence the 3 cars , they are my would be dorm expenses). My younger brother recently got a truck and now there is no room to park the Jag. Our home owner's association are real sticklers about cars parking in the street. It was made very clear to me. "Get rid of one of your cars, or move out" . I refuse to part with the other cars, one being the range rover which has been my trustee 4x4 in the winter for several years, and the other being a santa fe thats never let me down ever! Because I don't know how much I can trust the Jag to get me where I need to go, I am coming to terms that it is the one that must go.

So, here is the question. Should I restore her to mint shape and get top dollar, or just sell it as is? She is a little rough around the edges, the moron owner before me put enamel paint on it that will last a year or two at the most before completely peeling. In other words it just looks OK. Someone had backed into it and damaged the hood and grill. I already planned on taking care of this anyways. One of my friends can do it pretty cheap. The headliner has gone (of course) and the brake pads are about to go as well. The driver leather seat needs to be redone, and the front windshield needs to be replaced. Aside from those things, she runs and drives great. I already have about $2300 into the car total and estimate the repairs to make it in great shape to be another $1500 or so. Maybe at that point I won't want to part with it . I want to thank you all for your help, and let me know what you think I should do. Thanks in advance!

Old 09-23-2010, 04:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

..and they say there's a recession...pshaw..