Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj6-xjr6-x300-26/)
-   -   Ignition Coils (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj6-xjr6-x300-26/ignition-coils-215692/)

jomo 03-29-2019 12:01 AM

Ignition Coils

I read some old threads regarding ignition coils and I was wondering what the update is. That is are any of the off-brand coils lasting more than a year? Can you still get the Lucas coils that came from Japan? If yes, then how much?
I have 140,000 miles on my car and I suspect that the coils are original. The car drives very nicely but does not have the same power as my 95 xjs so I was wondering if this could be because of the coils? I have 40,000 miles on the plugs and will look at them tomorrow.
Thanks!

Scotlad 03-29-2019 08:43 AM

I have been using QYL brand of coils for close to 2 years now. You can buy a 6 pack of them on Amazon for around $80.00. They are made in China and so far no problems. The Japanese coils are still available from one of the forum sponsors and are around $100.00 each.

Don B 03-29-2019 08:57 AM

Hi jomo,

At 40,000 miles, it's probably time for new plugs. Before you worry about your coils, I would recommend you do a basic tune-up: New Champion RC12YC plugs, air filter, fuel filter, clean the gunk out of the air intake plumbing and crankcase breather hoses, clean the engine bay ground points, including the engine ground strap, clean your Crankshaft Position Sensor (CKPS), adjust your throttle cable, and check your drive belts. Consider changing your coolant thermostat if it's been awhile.