Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj8-xjr-x308-27/)
-   -   died twice completely (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj8-xjr-x308-27/died-twice-completely-3865/)

lofty 01-14-2008 07:00 AM

died twice completely

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the forum and unfortunately a true non-techie with anything car related.

Twice recently I have unlocked my 2000 XJ8 (with the fob) to find the car has completely died. Turning the key gives nothing and there are no messages in the panels. Not even the mileage is displayed and there was a constant ticking noise coming from the steering column area/underside of the dash.

The car could also notbe locked with the fob.

The first time this happened I'm not sure what I did to overcome the problem, I left the car for an hour and went back to it and it seemed cured.

The second time, I unlocked the car, put something in the boot, jumped in the cabin and found myself in the same situation.

Eventually, by chance, I opened the boot manually with the key(to get my coat!), shut the boot andwent back into the car and seen the mileage was then displaying and subsequently the car was living again.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

FactoryJaguarTech 01-14-2008 08:07 AM

RE: died twice completely

Pull carpet from right side of trans tunnel by shifter. You will see black boot over power stud. Make sure its tight and report back

drog321 01-14-2008 12:26 PM

lofty - i'd first check the other poster's suggestion, then read my post below. i had an identical issue...see (c) below

---------------------------------------------------------------