Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj8-xjr-x308-27/)
-   -   Transmission wooes (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj8-xjr-x308-27/transmission-wooes-6456/)

lowincome 06-03-2008 11:38 PM

Transmission wooes

So I just bought a 98 XJR, Had it for all of 5 days before the trans died. Now I'm not a rich doctor,matter of fact just the opposite I'm a privet in the army.I got the car right ($6500)and It showed no signs of trans problems when I got. I needed a family car (baby on the way)that would be safe and something fun wouldn't hurt. So to the issues When in park or neutral the car makes a metal on metal grinding sound plus when in neutral or park and you rev it it wants to push the car. when you pull it into gear it bangs in rhythm with rpm but when its on jack stands and you get it to shift up it dead smooth. The grinding and banging changes pitch and intensity depending on how much tension is on the drive line. I'm a car guy and I plan on pulling it my self but was curious to what I might be looking at for whats wrong? Plus who knows where the absolute best deal are on 722.650 rebuilds kits? where can I get hard parts if something is chewed up? I have a buddy that can do the labor for 500.00 but now I'm worried about the parts. Ive seen e bay trans for 1500 but I cant afford the core charges.

NorCalDiesel 06-04-2008 03:23 AM

RE: Transmission wooes