XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

XJR 2001 Supercharger removal - How long/difficult?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2019, 11:32 PM
Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts
Default XJR 2001 Supercharger removal - How long/difficult?

Hi there friends,

Has anyone done this? Can anyone give me some idea of how long this should actually take for experienced Jaguar mechanics?

Why? My local Jaguar Landrover dealer noticed a coolant leak coming from the SC housing (apparently, it was pooling there) after an overnight pressure-test. Since then they've had the vehicle for 8 days but haven't found any leak. They're telling me the delay is that it is very difficult to remove the SC housing.

I've looked at the JTIS manual but I'm no mechanic.

Old 05-15-2019, 12:10 AM
Veteran Member
Received 842 Likes on 592 Posts

It is not really a big deal. The supercharger is held by three bolts to the engine, two at the front and one at the back (red lines on the pic). It is not required to remove the charge coolers. Mainly, four things need to be removed before unbolting and taking out the supercharger - thermostat housing/cross pipe, supercharger cover plate and its couplings to the charge coolers, throttle body and the intake elbow.

The following users liked this post:
Don B (06-10-2019)
Old 05-15-2019, 01:15 AM

The mechanics are investigating a coolant leak - would that change what needs to be removed?

Old 05-15-2019, 07:39 AM
Veteran Member

You said that "My local Jaguar Landrover dealer noticed a coolant leak coming from the SC housing". There is no cooland inside the SC housing so the leak cannot be from there. I presume you meant that there is coolant pooling under the SC, i.e. in the vee of the engine. Usually, the leak is from the heater hoses that run under the supercharger. It is possible (but unlikely) that you have coolant leak from one of the charge coolers. In both cases, the SC has to come out.

motorcarman (05-15-2019)
Old 05-15-2019, 08:45 AM