XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1979 xj 12 starts wont idle

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2017, 07:00 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1979 xj 12 starts wont idle

Hi Guys i have recently acquired a 1979 xj 12 series 111 vanden plas .53000 miles
The last owner said it had a fuel pump issue which i sorted (the pump was seized as the car has been dry stored for over 4 years,)stripped the pump and got it working and its pumping fuel up to the fuel filter .The issue is the car will fire up almost immediately will run for a few seconds and then dies.the car will not idle at all.My suspicion is a faulty cold start relay but i really dont know, has any one come across this issue before ? im relatively new to jags i have a xj6 which has run like a top sice i got it over 5 years ago but the 12 is a new machine that i am onlt getting to know my way around any advice would be greatly appreciated i really want to get this big cat purring again

Old 09-10-2017, 08:09 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,749 Likes on 7,100 Posts

The "Could be" list is rather long . And, truth is, you probably have several sub-systems that need some degree of attention.

You gotta begin somewhere, though, so I'd pull the fuel filter and empty the contents into a clean jar. What you see will dictate your next steps. Fuel tank rust is a common issue when cars are stored for long periods and these old Jags seem to be especially vulnerable.

If the contents of the filter is brown muck...and I'm betting it will be....then at the very minimum you'll have to drain the tanks and add fresh fuel. Possibly more...but we'll discuss those options after you report back.

I doubt that the cold start system is to blame as it operates only when the key is turned to the 'start' position....and you report that the engine starts easily. You don't have a starting problem; you have a running problem.

Others will chime in with other ideas.

Cheers
DD

Old 09-10-2017, 09:04 AM