XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1981 XJ6 been sitting awhile, What to do?

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2015, 10:08 PM
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 1981 XJ6 been sitting awhile, What to do?

Picking up a new to me 81 XJ6 this Saturday. Bought it from a widow. She said her husband last drove it in 2010-2011. I popped the fuel caps and smelled the fuel. It's tarnished. It does run and drive but it runs rough. I will be trailering it home to not hurt anything with the old fuel. This is my first fuel injected import but have been a basic mechanic all my life. I have been building and restoring street rods since 1992. My idea was to perform a basic tune up and fluid change. I would like to pull the fuel tanks and flush them out. New fuel filter and maybe fuel injector O rings too. I don't even mind replacing the fuel pump for preventative maintenance. Is there anything else you guys would do or check on the 4.2 that's been sitting this long? It shows 117,000 miles. Where would I get a new fuel sending unit seal? If I pull the fuel tank I'd like to go ahead and replace the seals. Been doing some research and it looks like two separate fuel tanks. Any special tools needed to remove the fuel lines on an 81? Sorry for the book I just wrote.

Old 12-16-2015, 06:46 AM
Received 192 Likes on 169 Posts

Brakes and brake lines are the first priority. Rubber perishes and sticks with non-use and bores can corrode.

Change the coolant and brake fluid as part of the service.

Old 12-16-2015, 08:19 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,399 Likes on 1,880 Posts

Hafrod:

I'm definitely not a pro mechanic. but, I feel a kinship. The
project before the Jaguar was a "Hot rod of the forties".
Model A frame. Z'd at the rear. Springs with reversed eyes.
4" dropped front axle by Mordrop. "Juice" brakes from an early