XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1983 XJ6 No Power, Hesitates

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2016, 11:04 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1983 XJ6 No Power, Hesitates

I inherited a 1983 XJ6 via a passing in the family. I have been pulling wrenched for 35 years. This is a very beautiful car, but does not run correct. Has the 4L straight 6 engine. Idles fine but will not pick up RPM's and hesitates. Once you get it up past 1500 RPM it picks it up fine. You break torque it and it hesitates and stumbles like the ignition system is breaking down. I'm going to list what was done to the car before i got it and what i have done to it.

New Fuel Pump & Filter
Siphon out old gas and replaced with new
new plugs, wires, coil, cap, rotor, Dist pickup, & Module
Reman Mass Air Flow Box

I used a LP bottle with a hose to check for a vacuum leak. None found so far. I dropped the exhaust at the manifold thinking the Cat was plug and ran it with the same performance results.

I would like to get this running correct and sell it. I would appreciate and advise on what I should focus on next.
I'm going to apologize now as I did search the fourms and have not found my answer it I happen to have missed it.

Thanks Sloanie

Old 10-07-2016, 04:08 AM
Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts

that all sounds like fuel pump, hot wire the pump so you know its getting a good feed. syphoning the tanks is not cleaning them, they may be full of crap starving the flow. new fuel pump may be faulty.
I had all the same problems that was fixed with a new pump. also check fuel line solinoids to make sure they are working and letting the fuel move correctly

Old 10-07-2016, 05:31 AM

Hooter, Thanks for the advise. I should have said I did hot wire the pump and even unhooked the fuel line after the filter and wired the pump to drain the old fuel. The fuel delivery from the tank through the pump and filters appears to be fine.