Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/)
-   -   85 XJ6 4.2 Poor Idle/Dies at Idle (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/85-xj6-4-2-poor-idle-dies-idle-218948/)

bjzwissler 06-10-2019 10:15 AM

85 XJ6 4.2 Poor Idle/Dies at Idle

I've had my 85 Vanden Plas about five years and it has generally run fine. Lately though it started idling mildly roughly most of the time and now with A/C season in full swing its sometime dying at idle. There are also random drops in idle speed when warmed up that feel like dead misses or nearly dead misses. It runs fine off idle.

I've got some experience with Bosch L-Jetronic systems and with this Jag in particular and I'm running out of ideas for troubleshooting. I'm hoping for some BTDT experience from the grouip. Here's what I've found so far:

Tested Good:

Using a Snap-On Counselor II Engine Analyzer (circa 1990) and a dual channel Tektronix oscilloscope I've tested the AFM and the ignition system. Both seem rock solid. There's a good spark ignition on each cylinder, even when the misses are occurring. I did replace the original ignition system with a Pertronix about six months ago, but again, the scope shows no issue with ignition (at least based on my interpretation). I initially suspected the AFM was dropping out and that was causing fueling to drop, but using the scope the AFM signal looks great both manually pushing it full range and when running while misses are occurring. I see no drops in signal when the problem is occurring and generally it just gives a nice steady voltage that varies appropriately with flow.