XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

89 XJ6 - New to Jag, have many questions! HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2007, 03:47 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,429 Likes on 1,828 Posts
Default RE: 89 XJ6 - New to Jag, have many questions! HELP!

hello Madscotsman. I'll give you my opinion and others can give you theirs. Don't compare a domestic Dodge truck to a Jaguar. If you want simplicity and inmediate parts availability, I would say keep your Dodge. I am not a mechanic or technician, but I have 16 years of experience dealing with my XJ-6, and I will keep that Jaguar forever by the looks of it. I just love the car. It has outlasted my first marriage! that should tell you something. I can fix 95% of whatever goes bad in my Jags, except engine and transmission, since I've never had to rebuild one.

The Jaguar is a more complicated car due to all the bells-and-whistles. The '89 is the last "real" Jaguar made by Jaguar, why?? ...because Ford "bought" Jaguar in 1989, and from 1990-on, Jaguars have more influence from Ford's "better idea" of using PLASTIC and FOAM to save a penny here and there. Although I've heard that part of the deal was that Jaguar would keep their Independence from Ford's Do-It-Cheep Influence. I hope so. I also own a Ford and it is the biggest piece of garbage ever invented by civilized man, so I am not just being prejudiced, I am talking from experience. Fortunately, Ford has no monopoly on Jaguar parts as they do with Ford parts, where everyone has to charge the same exhorbitant price for a Ford part no matter who you buy from. No such monopoly in the Jaguar parts supply chain.