Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/)
-   -   A/C Compressor oil leak (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/c-compressor-oil-leak-165408/)

DannyRobertHoward 07-04-2016 11:28 AM

A/C Compressor oil leak

Greetings to all, I had my air conditioning system re-gassed last week. The a/c man did tell me that he noticed that there was oil leaking from the compressor and there is a strong possibilty that the gas would leak and the system would fail. He also said that there used to be a compressor service kit to overhaul these compressors but they are now obsolete. I have been using the R12 replacement gas R134 for a few years now. He went on to say that if the gas escaped, the only cure would be to fit a new compressor, condenser, receiver/drier, expansion valve, hoses etc. Then I would be using the modern gas and all should be fine. But at a cost of appox £1,000.
Does anybody know if there are any compressor service kits being supplied by anybody? Any A/C experts that might be able to offer suggestions?
Kindest regards, Danny.

Grant Francis 07-05-2016 03:36 AM

Assuming Delco Black Monster compressor??

Not even gassed down here, they simply dont like the 134a pressures.

A Sanden unit is a standard replacement, BUT, it is NOT a plug and play task. Brackets will need to be made, fairly simple for any DIYer, new hoses, and drier, then you will be good for many years.

The compressor you currently have is a GM unit, and maybe ?bay will have a kit, but these units are OLD in any meaning of that word.

DannyRobertHoward 07-05-2016 03:53 AM