XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Diagnosis and Repair of No A/C Fan Condition (And other useful AC Observations)

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2019, 08:18 PM
Received 100 Likes on 56 Posts
Default Diagnosis and Repair of No A/C Fan Condition (And other useful AC Observations)

I was able to diagnose a No Fan at any Setting condition for the Delanair A/C system. In the event that someone else has the same condition perhaps this post will be helpful in diagnosing your condition. I am no Delanair expert, the diagnosis was the result of lots of research and hours poring over the electrical diagram for the AC system. This electrical diagram may be found at Fig 25.1 in Jaguar Publication S 57. I have a marked up version below.

The symptoms:

1) The AC Fans suddenly/progressively became unresponsive to the Mode Control Switch. In my case, this progression occurred over maybe 5 minutes, revived a day later and then quit altogether.

2) When the fans quit, no mater how much flipping back and forth, changing of the dials, no fan response.

3) Flaps worked under Vacuum Only. There was no “Whir” of servos when changing Mode or temperature.

4) When driving, hot air would “flow” through the system, but not “Blow” through the system. When the mode switch was turned “OFF” the “flow” stopped.

5) There was on a single “Click” relay-activating noise when the mode selector switch was turned. In other words, there should have been at least four (as different setting caused the relays to go off in turn) and I was getting one.

Potential causes:

I learned from researching this forum and others that the system is mysterious and there were no clear (if you don’t have experience or fancy equipment) steps to rule in or out certain expected faults.

A thorough researching revealed it might be any of the following:

1) Gummed Up Fans

2) Blown Fuses (there are at least 5 that might be effected)

3) Temperature Switch

4) Fan Relays

5) Amplifier