Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/)
-   -   The engine does not start - xj12 (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/engine-does-not-start-xj12-169015/)

mmac867 09-09-2016 07:14 AM

The engine does not start - xj12

3 Attachment(s)
I am currently restoring xj12.
After restoring the engine, the engine does not start.
I looked for the cause and found that only six injector injects fuel.
Like the photo I attached, only six injectors(red arrow) work and the other six(blue arrow) do not.
I want to know why.
I'm not a mechanic, but i am thinking the crank shaft position sensor or injecton power amplifier or the ecu as the cause.
I really need answers for this. I respectfully ask for help. Thank you.

Grant Francis 09-10-2016 04:15 AM

Is this the XJ12C?????.

The V12 injectors are triggered in 4 groups of 3.

1,3,5A
2,4,6A
1,3,5B
2,4,6B.

Looking at your colour coded arrows, you have 2 banks of 3 working, and 2 banks of 3 NOT working.

I reckon you got a loom issue, or that amp is having a moment.

The engine snap is hard to pick which engine it is, the fuel rail is HE, but my PreHE had that rail also. The single coil indicates Pre Marelli, but some ID from yourself will get my slushy thinking a bit more clearer.

If its the PreHE with the trigger board for EFI activation, then that board or the wiring is also in question.

mmac867 09-10-2016 09:41 PM

Thank you

Yes, It's xj12c with Pre-HE engine.
Can you explain more about a loom issue?
Thank you for your help.

Originally Posted by Grant Francis (Post 1532566)
Is this the XJ12C?????.

The V12 injectors are triggered in 4 groups of 3.

1,3,5A
2,4,6A
1,3,5B
2,4,6B.

Looking at your colour coded arrows, you have 2 banks of 3 working, and 2 banks of 3 NOT working.