XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

IRS concerns 1975 XJ6

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2012, 07:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question IRS concerns 1975 XJ6

This is my concern: Will the IRS rear end in my 75 XJ6 Coupe hold up to the new power plant & transmission ???

I'm installing a 388cu.in SB Chevy in my XJ6. The engine produced 434hp & 468 lbs of torque on the engine dyno. I'm using a pro-built GM 700R4 transmission with a 3.06 first gear ratio & a custom built 2,000 - 2,200 rpm stall converter.

I plan on doing a little drag racing to show these owners of new Camaros & Mustangs what my little Jaguar is made of. In fact I have a little side bet with a buddy of mine who owns a 2012 Camaro SS - who says he'll beat me by 5 cars lenghts or better.

I've been building & racing American muscle cars for over 40 years, but this is my first experience building a Jag - so I'm asking the wisdom of other XJ6 owners. I found I can run a 275-50 drag radial with a special made wheels - so traction shouldn't be an issue. It's my belief the original half-shafts & or rear may fail. What if anything can I do to prevent breakage ?
Advise & opinions welcome - thank you.

Old 12-21-2012, 08:08 AM
Veteran Member
Received 342 Likes on 268 Posts
Default Rear end should hold up

My '71 XJ has a 383 that dynoed at 410 HP and 470# torque with a 200R trans. it used to have 3:31's and now has 2:88's. The rear has given no trouble at all since the new engine in 1997.

It will burn both tires at will and tries to lift the front end with the stock sized
tires.

I can stay up with the older Camaros with 6 speeds as they usually burn too much when they discover the Jag has good low end torque and usually leaves them at the beginning.

You will not beat the new Camaro...at best you will have a high 13 second drag racer without any power additives.

Old 12-21-2012, 10:51 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,359 Likes on 790 Posts