Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jag or Daimler, an emotive question

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2018, 08:00 PM
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Jag or Daimler, an emotive question

hi all,
perhaps a dumb question ( I'm new to the Jag ( or Daimler should I say in context with this submission) as a classic not just my wife's transport).
what is the real difference between Jags and Daimlers? Now I understand they are practically identical ( badge engineered) cars but the point of this question is not to identify minor cosmetic differences but rather to get to the subtle heart of the two brands.
Obviously Leyland believed that marketing XJ as the two different cars would Increases sales and profits but often when manufacturers use technique the logic is obvious if not less cynical, to point Morris Major for the masses, Wolsley for the more discerning, MG Magnette for the sporting executive etc. Yet the difference between Jaguat and Daimler seems far more subtle.
so I guess the question is:
What was the ratio of Jags to Daimlers sold?
Was one or the other inherently more desirable when new?
Was one more expensive when new?
Were Jags marketed to a more sporting potential buyer and were Daimlers aimed more towards a staid clientele?
Were either client considered more discerning?
Was Daimler ( erroneously) considered more bespoke?
Did they come with different standard equipment levels ?
Was there any real seperation of the marques in the show room or was the choice of a Jaguar or Daimler given no more gravity than ticking the desired colour in the paint code box on the order form in the salesman's office?
is there a price premium today?
After the passage of nearly half a century with our cars hovering between banger and classic status is there any perceived difference between the two? I bought the Daimler not for brand but because of the car
Can I refer to the new Doble Six as a big cat without committing a terminal faux pas.