Sponsored by:

Jaguar XJ6C buying advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2019, 06:53 PM
P G
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Jaguar XJ6C buying advice

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum, but saw that it is filled with useful information, that is why I would like to ask you a question. I am not new to modern Jaguars, but I have never owned a classic Jaguar. I am currently orientating myself for a Jaguar XJ6 coupe. The one attached in the link got my attention since it looks quite good. But as I mentioned I am new to classic Jaguars.

I already looked at quite a few buying guides online, but just wanted to ask if anyone on here has some more specific on what things to look out for? (before I go and watch the car)
The coupe I am interested in will be auctioned, and on a viewing day it won't be possible to start te car (but will be possible to examine the car thouroughly). The auction company however attached a video of the engine running. I can hear some kind of strange sound, but I am not sure what causes it. To be more specific from what I can hear: I hear two sounds which are strange to me. One is the loud knocking/ rattle when running stationary, the second sound is the increase of humming/ knocking when reving.

I am trying to estimate for myself whether the car is worth watching or not.

As you can hear some advice and information will be much appreciated. Especially about the engine noise, the general state of the car and what to look out for.

https://www.bva-auctions.com/nl/auct...13507496?pid=1

https://www.classiccar-auctions.com/...-coupe-1977-3/

Many thanks and greetings,

PG

Old 09-19-2019, 09:23 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

The noises could be relatively benign....or not. Impossible to tell without hearing them

At the top of this section, in one of the sticky topics, is a buyers guide which may be helpful to you. I suggest starting there and coming back for clarifications, if needed.