Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/)
-   -   Oil? Oil? (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/oil-oil-1311/)

93xj6 04-01-2007 02:18 AM

Oil? Oil?

Well I'm fairly new to driving, and mechanics and what not. I know the various advantages of synthetic oil, but do any of you actually use this in your xj6/xj40s. I don't need the oil changed any time soon, but I was hoping maybe that could increase my fuel consumption.

I was getting liek 13/gallon, but it went up to close to 15 after an italian tune up, and I was hoping maybe with synthetic I would get the factory tested 17 mpg city, which is the only place I drive.

Im guessing 2 mpg more is a bit much to be asking, but I have never actually gotten synthetic oil.

bigdreams05 04-01-2007 11:44 AM

RE: Oil? Oil?

No, you went get better mileage. If you want better economy, remove your catalytic converter and get a KnN air filter.

93xj6 04-01-2007 11:54 AM

Allrite thanks for the advice man. Another forum recomended not gettin synthetic so I won't.

Problem with the K &N filter is that they never seem to have them at the pep boys I go to, and last time we tried to check the air filter on the car it took us nearly an hour to figure out how to get the air intake back into place, it's really difficult on the 93. We thought we were gunna need to get it towed to like a jag dealer because it was nearly impossible.

I could probably buy the filter and then have them put it in at a jiffy lube, is there a good website for buying filters?

Jose 04-01-2007 03:14 PM

every Jaguar mechanic I know has always told me to not use synthetic oil, only Castrol 20W50.
The K & N air filter I have in my 1984 XJ-6 was "special ordered", they never keep them in stock.