XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Series 1 V12 ignition and wiring. In the Valley of Death!

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2017, 09:56 PM
Received 31 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Series 1 V12 ignition and wiring. In the Valley of Death!

Gents,
Looking for advice regarding the wiring running through Death Valley
This includes alternator and Opus ignition wiring
The current state of it is pretty much unusable

Death Valley

Opus unit and ballast

Crispy

Hard and cracked.

Opus Module Location

I'm a Sparky by trade so splicing in some new wiring doesn't pose much of a problem. My main questions to those who have been there and done that focus on the ignition side of things. I think I've read somewhere that the reason the Opus ignition module is located right there next to the dizzy is that it has to have a short cable run in order for it to work correctly? If this is the case then I'll leave it where it is and just re wire with heat resistant cable
If it's position isn't critical could it be re located to the cabin and out of the roasting pit that is the engine bay. Has anyone done this?
Next question. Does anyone have a recommended supplier of suitable cable, preferably in Australia.
Thanks in advance. Alan

Old 05-11-2017, 11:49 PM
Veteran Member
Received 8,950 Likes on 5,295 Posts

Hello, Alan,
When Nix was new to me, after I had driven her about 500 miles she suddenly stopped one day requiring a ride home on a flat bed (All Classic Jaguar owners need towing coverage). This was only the First time.

I discovered all the wires in the valley were even in Worse condition than yours! Someone, who would probably like to remain nameless but whose initials are PO, installed an EGR valve and didn't properly tighten it. So exhaust gases spewed out like a blow torch onto the wiring harness that lay right next to it and destroyed it. (What you have found looks Very familiar!)