Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/)
-   -   Series III Storage? (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj6-xj12-series-i-ii-iii-16/series-iii-storage-131520/)

ersatzcrab 11-19-2014 11:59 PM

Series III Storage?

Hi, all! I'm new here. I did some snooping and decided this would be the best place to ask a noobish question. Y'all seem friendly enough!

I'm a freshman at a college that necessitates that I have a way of getting around. I remembered about a year ago that my dad has his '85 XJ6 sitting in a garage somewhere, and he's said that he's open to "negotiations." I immediately became rather obsessed with the car and I've done a bunch of research on it. I've heard that it's rather prone to rust around the doors, windows, fuel tanks, etc., and I was wondering if it's a realistic option to store the old girl outside. Since there's no enclosed parking on my campus, that's where she'd have to be for the school year. Are things like weather tarps protective enough, or is the most viable option to keep her in storage and buy myself some junker?

Thanks so much,
Max

yarpos 11-20-2014 01:34 AM

I wouldn't even try to do that in my climate, which is much more benign than New York State. Tarps will probably just make it sweat and accelerate deterioration if used long term.Keep the car for later restoration (maybe) and go the junker. A freshman at college is probably (going out on a limb here) going to have a few distractions that may make dealing with a needy XJ6 a low priority. I'm sure some knowledgeable locals will chime in soon.

Wilfred88 11-20-2014 06:47 AM

Depends on your skills. My series 1, which are very rusty as well, is always outside. I can weld, so if a bad spot occurs, I weld it, make it straight and paint it. So I can't really be bothered by some rust.