XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1989 5.3 V12 horn

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2014, 09:35 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1989 5.3 V12 horn

Hi guys i hope someone can help me? I have a 1989 v12 xjs the previous owner has cut the wires from the horn (for resons best known to themselves!!) i have a replacement so where do i wire it up to? As im new to all this

Old 10-19-2014, 10:09 AM
Received 33 Likes on 29 Posts

where is the wire cut? are you able to splice it back together or has a length been removed?

Old 10-19-2014, 11:12 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,755 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Originally Posted by Dave2254
Hi guys i hope someone can help me? I have a 1989 v12 xjs the previous owner has cut the wires from the horn (for resons best known to themselves!!)
Wires cut to one horn, or both? If both, my guess is the wires were cut to silence horns that wouldn't stop blowing due to an upstream problem! You'll find out soon enough.

Cheers
DD

Old 10-19-2014, 11:28 AM
Received 496 Likes on 315 Posts

the horns are mounted under the plate the bonnet ( hood ) hinges mount to ,

the horns are controlled by some very fiddly parts that mount to the steering column by the ignition key

these spring clips are still available from Jaguar for only a few pounds sterling

you may well find that the spring clips have wiggled loose and just need tightening up onto the column mounts

BB

Old 10-19-2014, 11:34 AM
Veteran Member
Received 413 Likes on 311 Posts

Heh - this happened to me once back in the day I had been out at a nightclub and met a hottie for the evening. She agreed to a nightcap and was suitably impressed with the Jag, UNTIL.... I turned the steering wheel and the (#^$ horn went off.