XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Seat recovering

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2018, 11:29 PM
Received 87 Likes on 70 Posts
Default Seat recovering

I have a new to me 1994 XJS AJ6 rag top and besides the drivers seat it's nearly mint. I purchased the car knowing I would need to recover the seats, so it is what it is. I've done this project on my other classic cars, however they mostly had simplistic manual seats compared to these.

I've read the other posts on the various vendors that supply covers. I see "Autoberry" but it appears their leather covers are mixed leather and vinyl. I'm also not 100% convinced after seeing some of the pictures that the fit will be what I'm looking for.

Can anyone post any any additional pictures of their recovered seats in the various vendors materials? I also need to do the arm rest of course.

Failing all else I'll just bite the bullet and take it to a trim shop I use, but I like doing my own projects, twenty years ago I was a professional mechanic so I'm pretty handy.

I think it's compulsory to post pictures of your new ride on forums, I just have the one since the weather was moving in yesterday.

Seat recovering-o4f6cuy.jpg

Old 02-25-2018, 04:00 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,905 Likes on 1,661 Posts

Sorry can't help on the seats (mine need doing!) but nice looking car.

Old 02-25-2018, 05:35 PM
Veteran Member
Received 416 Likes on 316 Posts

Is it just one or two panels of the seats, or the whole things? Can you post a picture?

The previous owner of my XJS had the left drivers bolster replaced with new leather, by an auto upholstery shop. Looks great, color is a perfect match.

Old 02-25-2018, 05:59 PM
Received 46 Likes on 37 Posts

WorldUPH.com