XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

AC blowing hot air when stopped at a traffic light!

Old 05-10-2018, 07:26 PM
Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts
Default AC blowing hot air when stopped at a traffic light!

2008 Jaguar XKR.

This has been happening for so some time. AC blows cold when driving at a good speed. Starts blowing hot air when stopped at an intersection or idling. If I give gas in neutral, it gets cold. I am a novice on this and would like any guidance, before I go the auto shop, so that they won't charge me too much.
Freon is full and had it checked. Thanks

Old 05-10-2018, 08:47 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,638 Likes on 1,066 Posts

Make sure your cooling fans are operating properly. Other than getting results by revving in Neutral, it sounds like your cooling fans are not running. How's radiator temp?

The following users liked this post:
Don B (05-11-2018)
Old 05-11-2018, 11:17 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,383 Likes on 1,087 Posts

Wrong car posting

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 05-11-2018 at 11:58 AM.
Old 05-11-2018, 01:26 PM
Veteran Member
Received 969 Likes on 654 Posts

Must be summer. Read the codes for the HVAC and see if it says the pressure is low.

aacpa15215 (05-11-2018)
Old 05-11-2018, 01:36 PM
Received 57 Likes on 42 Posts

If a shop tells you it the AC compressor get a 1st ,2nd & 3rd opinion. Seems like every shop has a different price quote for these cars when it comes to AC

aacpa15215 (05-11-2018)
Old 05-11-2018, 01:39 PM

Originally Posted by Lady Penelope
Wrong car posting
Sorry. Was not watching the location of posting. How do I move it to right sub forum.

Old 05-11-2018, 01:42 PM
Veteran Member
Received 4,164 Likes on 2,334 Posts

Originally Posted by aacpa15215
Sorry. Was not watching the location of posting. How do I move it to right sub forum.
If it's the 08 XKR you're referring to, you're in the right forum. It was probably already moved.

Old 05-11-2018, 01:45 PM

Originally Posted by Sean W