Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XK / XKR ( X150 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xk-xkr-x150-33/)
-   -   Buffer for newbie (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xk-xkr-x150-33/buffer-newbie-215466/)

robbing 03-24-2019 08:33 AM

Buffer for newbie

2007 XK

I've never used a buffer on a car for waxing but would love to try. I need something that's good for a beginner so I don't have to worry about screwing up the paint as much. I'm not a pro and don't expect pro results but would like something better than my out of shape arms doing the work. Anyone use one they consider a good choice?

80sRule 03-24-2019 09:05 AM

I used to do detailing. There really is a lot to learn to both get results and not mess anything up. I recommend heading over to autopia and reading up. You're going to end up buying a random orbital machine, like a porter cable 7424, a bunch of foam pads and various compounds. I'm partial to Lake Country pads with Meguiar's professional compounds(85-80) but there's probably better out there nowadays.

Cee Jay 03-24-2019 10:58 AM

"Buffing" and "Car Care" are totally different monsters;

Buffing is the process of taking off a tiny layer of old paint with abrasive compounds, and it includes multiple passes with finer and finer compounds. This can be dangerous for the beginner, and result in burn-throughs and swirls, and make an OK car look like total crap if not done right. "Polishing" is the final step of "Buffing".

Car Care 'Buffers' are merely a complicated way to remove dried residue after waxing or a light polishing (see above). I find it easier and more convenient to do all my residue removal by hand.

pdupler 03-24-2019 12:21 PM