Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xk8-xkr-x100-17/)
-   -   Aww Crap! Rodent Invasion (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xk8-xkr-x100-17/aww-crap-rodent-invasion-115419/)

HappySailor 04-08-2014 02:23 PM

Aww Crap! Rodent Invasion

4 Attachment(s)
Soooo...

I have my '99 XK8 apart at the heads(link here: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...41/)

I went away for a week to deal with a boat.... :icon_boat:before I left, I carefully covered the engine with a shipping blanket to keep the dust down...

Well... All I apparently really did was create a nice cozy rodent home on top of the block... Not sure if it's a squirrel, chipmunk, or field mouse... All are prevalent here...

When I was a pup, I was a tech at a dealership, and I saw NIGHTMARE cars that never were the same after rodent damage to main harnesses... Fortunately I don't see any wire damage...

Does anybody have any ideas short of a cat to keep the space under my bonnet free of furry critters???

Thanks!

Yes... that is an actual doooooo doooooo in cylinder #2... At least the guy had a sense of humor!:icon_gunhead:

Kevin D 04-08-2014 02:26 PM

Mothballs and mouse or rat traps

01Silverstone 04-08-2014 04:35 PM

I've heard dryer sheets work well to keep critters away; I stuff them all around my cars before storing them for the winter. I also put steel wool in the tailpipes and any other nooks/crannies. Never had a rodent issue, and there's lots of them around where I live.

RCSign 04-08-2014 05:09 PM

I've used Cab rodent repellent very pleasant smell that doesn't linger after you use it. just set them in and around the vehicle. Just click on robot check?

Kevin D 04-08-2014 05:15 PM

How to Keep Mice, Rats & Other Rodents Out of Your Car Engine | eHow

GGG 04-08-2014 05:36 PM

2 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by HappySailor (Post 950278)