Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best Year For XK8?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 02:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Year For XK8?

Hey Ya,

I have a high interest in purchasing a used Jag XK8 so I thought it best to jump into your forum with both feet and see if I can get a quick idea of what year XK8 seems to fare the best in terms of quality and durability (I know, we're talking Jags here but I'll say the "D" word anyways).

I'm hoping to get my hands on a 50-100k mile Coupe and immerse myself in learning how theses contraptions tick in comparison to lesser cars. I'm no newbie when it comes to car repair and mechanical performance modifications, so feel free to talk as sophisticated as you like.

Which brings me to my first inquiry... Is there a particular year XK8 that should be avoided because of serious design flaws, or does all years prior to 2005 pretty much turn out the same quality wise? What are the strengths and weaknesses of each particular year from 1997 up? Do the 1997's suffer from a lot of first year engineering bugaboos? Which year XK8's had the nikasil blocks?

Anyways, that's about it for my first inquiry, and if these questions have been asked a thousand times before me, my sincere apologies and a link referral to help me find my answers would be much appreciated.

Regards,
RJ

Old 06-05-2009, 08:15 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts
Default Relialibility and issues by years

Well, they have been discussed before but I will offer my personal opinions before a link.

The first year, 97' had a number of serious issues that were slowly engineered out. By '00 most of the serious problems had been worked out. By '02 the car had reached an acceptable level of reliability. You can plot that comment against the market prices and see a direct correlation.

In '03 the XK8/R underwent a significant upgrade in both engine and transmission and the market price jumps in response.