XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car shut down while driving and will not start

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2016, 12:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car shut down while driving and will not start

]Hi. I have a 99 xk8 convertible. I was driving down the road at about 40 mph and it just shut down. Luckily I was able to coast into a gas station. I tried starting it several times but no success. I have an OBD 2 code reader and these are the codes that came up...
All 8 cylinder misfire codes
P1367
P1368

I have checked all ground wires, coil packs, cam shaft position sensors & replaced the spark plugs one day prior to this happening. I did double check plugs type to ensure the right plugs were installed.
All 8 cylinders are down. Also i have been using the valet key for about 2 1/2 years. I dont have master keys. Dont know if that would trigger a security issue. But almost 3 years later? Probably not. Also was thinking maybe the ECM? Any ideas or advice would be appreciated. Thanks....

Last edited by debibean; 07-22-2016 at 12:37 PM. Reason: Bold title
Old 07-22-2016, 01:14 PM
Received 115 Likes on 102 Posts

Do a compression test. Verify fuel pressure with a gauge.

Old 07-22-2016, 03:12 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,782 Likes on 2,226 Posts

At least check the fuel pressure by depressing the pin of the schrader valve on the fuel rail after turning the key on/off. If it doesn't give a good spurt it would be a good idea to check with a pressure gauge for about 40 psi.

Old 07-22-2016, 04:12 PM
Veteran Member
Received 200 Likes on 176 Posts

It sounds like a fuel pump issue, It can quit and throw no codes. Did you clear the codes and crank it to see if it threw the same codes?

Old 07-22-2016, 06:17 PM