XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Discovered: Rev Sam's discovery (bet he doesn't even realize) Re: upper A arms

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2015, 10:43 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,808 Likes on 1,115 Posts
Default Discovered: Rev Sam's discovery (bet he doesn't even realize) Re: upper A arms

I have recently replaced my front shocks and upper shock mounts - wow what a nice difference. Of course I studied Rev. Sam's video on this topic since this was my 1st time diving into this.

Well I did the driver's side first. Thank God for impact wrenches, but I really ran into a headache when I tried to remove the upper A arm's bolt. This is the one with the thick and thin spacers that you have to be careful of, I have heard it called wishbone, not sure which is correct A arm or wishbone.

Anyway I must have spent a half hour at least to get this bolt out. There is not much room to get a good angle to pound it out. Since it took so long to do the driver's side, I left the passenger side until the next day.

While I was getting my head around starting the passenger side I ran through Rev Sam's video in my mind - he too had a 30 minute battle with this bolt, but not the one on the video - what was the difference. Then it hit me: Rev Sam realizes after he gets the A arm bolt out, he forgot to unbolt, or even loosen the shock absorber lower bolt before removing the A arm bolt. Well I had to try it.

Well it worked. I spent about 3 minutes getting this same A arm bolt out with the shock lower mount bolt untouched!

Coincidence or discovery? I'm betting it is a discovery (thanks Rev Sam)
I suppose this will take 1 or 2 of us to validate it, but I wanted to let you know.

When I think about the driver's side where I had loosened the shock bolt - there was movement and weight shifts on the A arm mounts I bet that's why it was so hard to get the bolt out. Give it a try, I hope it works for you, it was a huge difference.

John