Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xk8-xkr-x100-17/)
-   -   Jag Newbie (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xk8-xkr-x100-17/jag-newbie-129241/)

Eloianjag 10-20-2014 09:28 AM

Jag Newbie

Hello everyone ...Starting tomorrow, I'll be the proud owner of a 2001 XK8 convertible (118,000 mi.) ...light metallic gold/tan with oatmeal interior and brown top...gorgeous car ! Total newbie here to the Jag world as I've been a Vette guy for the last fifty years so I am a bit afraid of what I'll be getting into ? I know my way around a tool box somewhat but have heard the old stories of owning a Jaguar....

anyway, the car has been owned for the last nine years by a guy who has a
real nice auto repair shop and is quite confident in it's mechanical condition but I'm just curious as to what gremlins, if any ? to look for before I take the plunge...The Corvette forum has been a real life line over the years as I'm sure this site will be too...

aode06 10-20-2014 09:58 AM

Just drive it. Any problems, the car will tell you.

I will star out by saying, change the oil/filter, change air filter,have Jaguar change the tranny filter, change the rear end oil(they suck it out with a tube, then add new).

That's that.

Fulton 10-20-2014 10:29 AM

Welcome Eloianjag,
Check out the stickies in the XK8/XKR section, there is a ton of information.
cooling system issues and cam chain tensioners are the most common problems. Don't worry about the old stories, with a bit a maintenance and pro active repair they can be a joy to own and drive. Head over to the new member area and introduce yourself. Then change the labels on your tool box, they are spanners now, not wrenches.

Jag#4 10-20-2014 07:56 PM

Welcome to the forum.