Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

jaguar xk8 STORAGE

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2009, 12:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default jaguar xk8 STORAGE

howdy all
im felix and im proud 2say that i have and drive an xk8 97 convertible model. Car just runs smooth and make me drive it more and more.
i have read post and posts, and i cant remember a post about cars storage.
if anyone thinks is a good idea or knows something about how to storage a car for a period of 1year or a couple of years please let us know. As i am planing to store mine as i have to travel abroad for a period of one year ( workin contract) and there is no way i`ll just leave the car parked in a garaje or driveway for more thn a year .

thank you

cr4zy_jaguar

Old 12-10-2009, 01:50 PM
Veteran member
Received 1,144 Likes on 750 Posts

I'm no expert on long term storage, but I'd have no problem putting my car in a garage, on jackstands (to avoid flat spots on the tires), covered, and have a trickle charger connected.

Some people will recommend removal of the gas from the tank. I'd also consider periodic running periods of the engine to exersice it...maybe monthly.

Again, not an expert, but my initial ideas.

Old 12-10-2009, 02:23 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you're going abroad for 1 year, I would do the MOST you can. I keep my car garaged and only drive it at most 2-3 times per month. For storage, I just do a charger and put the tires on carpet to keep them off the concrete. 1 year is a long time for a car to sit without being run.

Old 12-10-2009, 05:35 PM
Veteran Member
Received 9,005 Likes on 4,113 Posts

Name:  car01.jpg
Views: 178
Size:  19.3 KB

We each have our own ideas Felix I guess, but there may be some you'd like to consider from the list below

WINTER CAR STORAGE TIPS

As most of you probably pack your favorite ride away for the winter, the followingwinter car storage tips can be used to maintain the integrity of your car andminimize any damage from improper storage.