XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My wife/cat got sideswiped, liable party wants to pay out of pocket, advice?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2013, 06:32 PM
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Exclamation My wife/cat got sideswiped, liable party wants to pay out of pocket, advice?

The liable party wants to pay out of pocket, there's a bump in the front left metal fender and the headlight came loose. Not sure about structural damage yet.

I'm new to insurance claims, so once I heard over the phone I immediately filed a claim with my insurance company and a claim against her insurance policy. I don't have collision on mine. My wife did not get a police report, but the liable party has admitted fault in person and through email.

Suggestions? Sucks to have your car lose value for being repainted. On the other hand, it has some older bumps that could do with some body work, any way to work in those? Agree to do it out of pocket if they pay for another bump if you can go back on a claim? And If you can't, how do I make the best out of the situation?

Old 06-21-2013, 06:42 PM
Received 447 Likes on 333 Posts

Sideswiped and no police report? How did that happen?

Was it on private property? No one called the police? Why?

Without a police report you have no proof that the accident happened or who was at fault. It really comes down to your word against theirs. Good luck if they decide that it didn't happen the away you said it did.

If the other party wants to pay "out of pocket" it usually means that they don't want their insurance company or the police to know about the accident.

Or it means they don't have insurance, or something is improper with their registration or license, or there were drugs/alcohol
involved.

Or they were somewhere that they shouldn't have been.

Shady business.

I doubt this is going to turn out well for you, but I hope I am wrong.
Vector

Last edited by Vector; 06-21-2013 at 07:08 PM.
Old 06-21-2013, 07:02 PM
Veteran Member