XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NEw member! Want to buy my first Jag. Any buyers guide for the XK8?

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2012, 05:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEw member! Want to buy my first Jag. Any buyers guide for the XK8?

Hi all!,

I'm new to the forums. This seems like the best community out there! I'm so happy I've stumbled on this place. I'm new to Jaguar in particular the XK8.
I'm currently looking to buy an XK between 97-01 and I'm here to learn what to look out for so, I can buy a good one. I read about the ever scary water pump and tensioners that plague the 4.0l models, but with luck maybe I can find a good one. I was wondering if anyone has a buyers guide for the years i'm looking for? I heard the third achilles heel is the soft top, but I'm wondering what I should look for when I'm standing there wondering if I should pull the trigger or not. The tensioners i'm outta luck unlessthey have maint. records fixing the issue, but are there other areas I should look out for? Also I know they did a refresh in 01 other than the heated seats and the chrome bit on the back is there any fixes to the car that makes it the year to buy? I'm of course trying to buy the cheapest deal I can get (yeah i know there are issues with doing that hehe).

Right now i'm currently driving:

2005 mercedes c230 - replacing with jag
2005 Lotus elise
1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Thank you so much guys for any tips on what year to get (between 97-01) and if there is a buyer guide to this model of jag.

Old 11-06-2012, 05:41 PM
Veteran Member
Received 133 Likes on 107 Posts

You should spend a little extra and get a 2003+. The only really expensive issue left is the hydraulic latch hose for the convertibles.