XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie on the fence

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2018, 06:40 PM
Received 41 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Newbie on the fence

As the title sez, I'm new to Jaguar. I love the classic looks of the X100 and like the modern technology of the X150. Since this car will be a weekend cruiser, driven less that 4,000 mile a year, I'm on the fence as to which model to buy. The older Jags have so much charm but harder to find in pristine shape while the newer ones are plentiful. I found this one on Auto Trader and would like some owners to chime in and give me their thoughts on the subject.

Thanks in advance and here's the link: https://www.autotrader.com/cars-for-...ink=true&Log=0

Old 03-13-2018, 06:59 PM
Received 2,577 Likes on 1,783 Posts

Important things to consider with this era X100 are the maintenance history and if known failure points have been taken care of such as the coolant hose beneath the supercharger.

Has the gearbox been serviced? The ZF 6HP26/28 performs best with a filter and fluid change every 50 thousand miles.

Check the suspension for broken and worn parts, especially the roll bar links, front ball joints and suspension bushes.

The following users liked this post:
Jeagar (03-14-2018)
Old 03-13-2018, 07:05 PM

Originally Posted by NBCat
Important things to consider with this era X100 are the maintenance history and if known failure points have been taken care of such as the coolant hose beneath the supercharger.

Has the gearbox been serviced? The ZF 6HP26/28 performs best with a filter and fluid change every 50 thousand miles.

Check the suspension for broken and worn parts, especially the roll bar links, front ball joints and suspension bushes.
Thanks for the tips. More info the better so, keep them coming!!!

Old 03-13-2018, 09:08 PM
dsd
Veteran Member
Received 326 Likes on 231 Posts