XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

VID block problem ​RESOLVED

 
  #1  
Old 04-15-2019, 06:53 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default VID block problem ​RESOLVED

Hi,I'm new in the forum and new MY2003 XKR 4.2 Convertible owner.First of all, thanks for a great forum.
I have already gotten huge help from you for several fixes, like changing driver's door ajar switch, fixing both headrests and changing headlights from RHD to LHR.However, now I got myself into deep trouble with fooling around with SDD/IDS program.
It started with not-working Adaptive Cruise Control (Cruise not available-message).I tried to fix it with checking connectors, wiring, re-configuration of ACC module and plenty of other things. After trying those and also finding out a replacement module would cost several thousands euros, I read somewhere that it's possible to change Adaptive cruise to normal one with IDS.
I have Mongoose JLR Pro interface and SDD 131.03So, I went there and selected "Add accessories" and first tried to remove Adaptive speed control, I got message "Test procedure not found". Then I made stupid thing: I selected add Normal Speed control. It even gave notice "During this procedure the following modules will be updated: Update VID block, Engine control module.
I did it anyway (it was quite late night).The update went through, but after it I got new error "DSC system fault".So, now I have also not-working DSC. The exact DTC code is: U2202 Invalid configuration on data receivedBased of this forum, I have figured out my VID block now includes mismatching data: change I made and what is really installed.
Do you think it's so or could it be something else?
I also got a bunch of other ABS codes when I removed ACC module connector, but those disappeared when reconnected.
My plan now is to1 .buy VCM interface2. program ECM is new (according to service bulletin 1-186) and that way make new VID block.
Another problem is that I'm not 100% sure of my car's exact configuration and I'm also getting codes U1260, U1261 and I'm not sure is it a real problem or just my Mongoose doesn't get anything from SCP.Any thoughts? Do you see any other way out?Thanks,Jyrki​
 

Last edited by Norri; 04-15-2019 at 07:59 AM.
  #2  
Old 04-15-2019, 09:09 AM
DavidYau's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 597
Received 164 Likes on 121 Posts
Default

Thanks Norri for the edit. Unreadable before.

Sorry, can't help on this one. As LnrB said on another thread (quote) "To err is human, but to really screw things up you need a computer."

Good luck on the fix.
 
  #3  
Old 04-17-2019, 02:26 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Problem solved!

I found another fix:
Luckily my VID block data was stored to log file only a couple of hours earlier I corrupted it.
Two bytes on it were different (and checksum of course)

After lots of google hours I got SDD Engineering mode password for VID block editor from vehcom.com
- activated Eng mode
- VID Edit function appeared to recommendations next to VID Read
- edited those bytes
- selected commit changes
- swiched ignition off and on
- and tadaa - no more DSC system fault

And no more module programming for me!
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Jyuu:
Norri (04-17-2019), volkris (04-18-2019)
  #4  
Old 04-17-2019, 02:49 PM
fmertz's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 1,696
Received 781 Likes on 609 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jyuu View Post
SDD Engineering mode password
Is this ... shareable? You know, just in case...
 
  #5  
Old 04-17-2019, 03:25 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

It’s a single use code. Just check link above. You need to register their site (I don’t know who they are, but code worked)
I think you can generate only two codes per day
 
  #6  
Old 04-17-2019, 03:33 PM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: PHX some of the time
Posts: 101,612
Received 4,742 Likes on 4,261 Posts
Default

Link? I see no link.

Oh now I see, this one? https://vehcom.com/
 
  #7  
Old 04-17-2019, 10:50 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Yes that one. Sorry, it wos not very clear, I just typed part of it.
 
The following users liked this post:
Norri (04-17-2019)
  #8  
Old 04-18-2019, 07:43 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default


And here is the picture of VID changes I made if someone finds it useful. Only bytes 21 and 28 were changed, the last one is checksum.
Probably some change for those would remove ACC, but I'm done experimenting
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Bigg Will
XF and XFR ( X250 )
43
04-08-2019 11:23 PM
boringb5
X-Type ( X400 )
2
02-23-2019 10:54 PM
kramzerreitug
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
12
02-04-2019 05:09 PM
JCalhoun
XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 )
13
02-01-2019 03:50 PM
patseee
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
2
01-26-2019 05:22 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: VID block problem ​RESOLVED


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: