F-Pace (X761) / C-X17 2016 - Onwards

Newbie - many questions - what to ask dealer and option advice?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2016, 11:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie - many questions - what to ask dealer and option advice?

I'm totally new to this vehicle and am ready to go for my first test drive tomorrow (actually today). I have a bunch of questions, but have been doing my research here, and looking at on-line reviews. I know that since this is a new model, there may be some "teething" problems that have been mentioned all over this and other forums. The one I see most prominently is the "isolator replacement". Is there any way to determine if a new vehicle has this mod already by looking at date of manufacture? Any of things that should be looked at?

I'm only looking for leather seats - is this an "option" or do they all come through with these?

I see there are two 6-cylinder engines (a 340 and a 380). The dealer I talked to said all they have now is a 340 engine since the models with 380's haven't started manufacturing yet. Is this true? Is the 340 sufficient HP for this to get it moving? I was disappointed with performance of the Mercedes GLE350 SUV so was leaning towards the GLE 400 SUV. As far as the BMW X5, I've had many BMW sedans, so wanted something different and didn't want to go for the e50 model for X5, due to price and due to the fact that it possibly has the problematic "N63" engine 8-cylinder or some variant of it. Also, and this sounds "picky", the back seat of the BMW doesn't lie flat when it goes down, for storage, but the Mercedes does lie flat. I'll need to see if this car's seat lies flat.

Any ideas on what the dealer may do on pricing - ie. discounting on these?

What are the "must-have" options on these?

Does 4 months sound about right for time to order?