Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   General Tech Help (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/)
-   -   Use of borescopes (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/use-borescopes-81088/)

ejjbee 09-20-2012 03:30 AM

Use of borescopes

Does anyone have any experience in using borescopes to inspect engine cavities, etc? Is it worth the while? I'm looking into purchasing a 'medium' use one; I'm not a pro and would not like to spend huge sums for one.

Original intention is to use it to inspect the interior of the engine-transmission bell housing of a 2008 XKR for an oil leak, but I suppose I can find lots of other uses for it.

Are their any opinions on their usability and possibly any recommended brands/prices?

Cheers.

Thermo 09-20-2012 07:06 AM

ejjbee, for what you are looking at doing, I would say that you would be better off renting a unit when you need it. The boroscopes can get expensive. Specifically, if you are looking at one, you definitely want one with a light on the end of the boroscope. This makes a world of a difference. Also, it is beneficial to have one that allows remote bending of the end of the probe.

I have used a lot of boroscopes for work when looking at safety penetrations for electrical wiring. As for brand A over Brand B, the big thing is to look at the resolution of the camera and the size of the screen. If you are only using say a 320x240 camera, then a 3" screen is more than adequate and going with a higher resolution camera is not going to benefit you. It is all in what you are willing to spend. Also, a color camera is going to cost more, but is also better in definition and being able to see what you want.

ejjbee 09-20-2012 07:37 AM