General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Use of borescopes

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2012, 03:30 AM
Received 43 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Use of borescopes

Does anyone have any experience in using borescopes to inspect engine cavities, etc? Is it worth the while? I'm looking into purchasing a 'medium' use one; I'm not a pro and would not like to spend huge sums for one.

Original intention is to use it to inspect the interior of the engine-transmission bell housing of a 2008 XKR for an oil leak, but I suppose I can find lots of other uses for it.

Are their any opinions on their usability and possibly any recommended brands/prices?

Cheers.

Old 09-20-2012, 07:06 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,838 Likes on 3,156 Posts

ejjbee, for what you are looking at doing, I would say that you would be better off renting a unit when you need it. The boroscopes can get expensive. Specifically, if you are looking at one, you definitely want one with a light on the end of the boroscope. This makes a world of a difference. Also, it is beneficial to have one that allows remote bending of the end of the probe.

I have used a lot of boroscopes for work when looking at safety penetrations for electrical wiring. As for brand A over Brand B, the big thing is to look at the resolution of the camera and the size of the screen. If you are only using say a 320x240 camera, then a 3" screen is more than adequate and going with a higher resolution camera is not going to benefit you. It is all in what you are willing to spend. Also, a color camera is going to cost more, but is also better in definition and being able to see what you want.

The following users liked this post:
ejjbee (09-20-2012)
Old 09-20-2012, 07:37 AM