X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best spark plugs for the X type?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2016, 01:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best spark plugs for the X type?

Hello Everyone,

I just want to ask what would be the best spark plugs to use for my 2004 Jaguar X Type 3.0? Is there any specific brands better for the X Type? Platinum, Double Platinum, or Iridium? Sorry if its a dumb question, I'm pretty new to these things...

Old 02-02-2016, 08:57 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Sylvester, lets first start by weeding out the ones you don't want. I say this because today, there are lots of spark plugs that will do exactly what you need.

As for what you don't want. This is pretty simple. If they advertise "multiple spark" or any other words essentially saying that it fires in different spots or multiple sparks at the same time, STAY AWAY!!!! Our cars seem to hate these plugs and will more than likely give you more problems that it will ever solve and the claim of "gain XX% in fuel efficiency" are fairly accurate if you change the word "gain" to loose.

The other plug that you want to stay away from is the $0.99 plug that is your classic plug for a 1970's car. You know the non-platinum, cheapo plugs. With they work in your car. Yes. But, plan on replacing them every 30K miles if not more often because of the high energy coils in the car. After replacing the plugs, you will understand why spending a little more on the plugs will make complete sense. 4 sets of plugs at $0.99 each or 1 set of plugs at $2.99 each over the same period of time.