XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Loose U-Joints"

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2011, 04:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Loose U-Joints"

Okay, so I'm still new to the Jaguar scene but have done a lot of shade tree mechanic work on many different vehicles, so what I'm about to tell you makes no sense to me. My wife got run off the road in the Jag a week or so ago. She didn't get very far off but a branch folded her mirror in and knocked the glass out, glass is fine but she appears to be missing some sort of clip to attach the glass to the body, mechanic wants $350 to replace that, reasonable or could I order it and do it? He also says the oil pan is bent and wants $250 to replace that, doesn't sound bad to me. The kicker is, he says that the "U-joints are loose"! I did a search and didn't find anything, looked at the parts fiche and the only u-joints that I can find are on the half shafts, which is what I was expecting. In my 40 plus years I have never heard of u-joints being loosened by running off the road and don't believe it could happen. Need some advice from your combined experience please.

Old 05-10-2011, 06:51 PM
Received 27 Likes on 26 Posts

Hey G-Man

First off we need to know your vehicle model and year? Then we need to know is the mechanic talking about a "U-Joint" in the front or back of the car? And, probably most helpful, can you snap and post a picture of the alleged failed U-joint? With that info we will be well on the way to an answer for you. The Forum members will most certainly be able to get you moving in the right direction.

Regards

Tim V.

Old 05-10-2011, 07:42 PM