F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can you drive the R Coupe in Winter?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2014, 12:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can you drive the R Coupe in Winter?

I am looking into the new "r" coupe, but up north we need all weather tires to travel in cold temperatures. Does the coupe offer this option, or is that something you have to purchase individually?

Summer performance tires are great- above 40 degrees F!

Old 06-09-2014, 01:32 PM
Veteran Member
Received 259 Likes on 205 Posts

Originally Posted by waldenshew
I am looking into the new "r" coupe, but up north we need all weather tires to travel in cold temperatures. Does the coupe offer this option, or is that something you have to purchase individually?

Summer performance tires are great- above 40 degrees F!
I've had lots of experience with winter driving up here.. about 1.5 hours north of the Toronto airport. and we live on a ranch.
My new Ftype r has not seen winter yet, however I just sold a XKR that did.
> Once the roads get much below 40 degrees F, as you mention it gets pretty slippery as far as traction is concerned, you have to get careful. Once below freezing (no snow or frost) it gets really slippery and you would consider it somewhat dangerous concerning sudden movements. All this with either the stock Pirelli's or the Michelin.
> Regarding snow, even with snow tires its only good up to about 3.5 to 4 inches, depending if its soft pack type snow (worst) or light dry type of snow. In dry snow you could push it a bit more.
> For snow tires, I bought a set of 19 inch rims (car had 20) which were ok with the calipers, regarding fitment... I believe the ftype r may be the same.