US Lower Atlantic NC SC FL GA

New Jag owner in Georgia

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2016, 11:04 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default New Jag owner in Georgia

Hey everyone!!

I just bought me a 2002 X-type 2.5 mechanic special out of Atlanta this weekend. It needs some love in a very bad way. I am a mechanic so fixing it doesn't scare me.

First big thing I am going to work on is it has a miss on cylinder #6, Ordered a COP from Rock Auto and I bought new plugs and everything to do a really good tune up and oil change this weekend.

Other things I know I need to address, Needs a headliner, boot open warning light stays on, brake lights stay on unless you pull up on the pedal, boot seal trashed, rear inner door panel is real loose. Something very caustic spilled on the rear seat bottom and ate up the leather, drivers seat doesn't adjust.

The body is real good condition and it has new tires. The whole car inside and out needs a really good detailing. I can't wait to get this car back to the condition it deserves to be in.

I am new to Jaguars so I may have to ask a few questions if I get stumped on something. The search function has really help me learn a lot about these cars already.

Old 02-18-2016, 11:23 AM
Sponsor
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Welcome to the forum Stephen, glad you've already figured out the search function hope you are able to find all the answers you need and good luck with the build!

Old 02-18-2016, 07:19 PM
Received 89 Likes on 55 Posts

Hi Stephen !
I am in the Atlanta area and I make use of the local salvage yards - Pull-a-Part
and S&W in Lithonia. Coventry West is just around the corner from S&W.
You can go to the Pull-a-Part web site and look at all 3 yards (North, East and South).
They generally have the X-type in all 3 yards.
They also rent golf carts to travel on the yards. $5 for the first hour and prorated after that. Comes in handy when you have some seats to haul.

And definitely welcome to the Wonderful World of Jaguars !