X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 x type 2.5 piston / rod / valve diagnosis advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2011, 06:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 x type 2.5 piston / rod / valve diagnosis advice

2003 x type 2.5 knocking "i don't work on jaguar" mechanics say "down in the engine". Sounded at first as if cooling fan nicking a housing. Then, occurred to me that it sort of sounded like the knocking you used to hear when the gas was not high octane enough. One of the mechanics said rod or piston. Didn't disagree when i said could be valves.

I'm no mechanic but i have some small inkling of what goes on in an internal combustion engine, being an old guy. I would like to have some idea of what kind of work i'm looking at before i take the plunge. I am pretty weary of those who say they can do something and cannot deliver.

Thanks all.

Mikliine

Old 05-22-2011, 07:21 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Mikline, if it is only valves, then that is pretty straight forward if you have some mechanical ability. Granted, don't plan on getting this done in a day (like you could with older engines). This will be a complete weekend job, if not possibly longer as you will have a lot of disassembly that will be needed to get the head off. If you want more info, let me know.

As for rods, our motors don't have rods. These motors are overhead cam. So, there is no need for rods. Granted, it is possible that if you are hearing a rattling, you can remove the valve covers and give the rocker arms a check to see if for some reason one of them has gotten loose over the years. There are lifters that help keep the rocker up against the cam.